The Girl On The Train By Paula Hawkins Book Review

Published By: Doubleday

Pages: 316

Genre: Adult Thriller

TGOTT - 1

Hi everyone! Firstly, I apologise that this review is a whole week late, but this past week I found myself in a place that no reader ever wants to be; in a reading slump. I just could not muster the motivation to read and, personally, I blame Netflix. However, once I got into this book I had no problems in finding time to read.

When this novel was first released there was a lot of talk about it being ‘the new gone girl’ so, having loved Gone Girl, I was excited to get my hands on this book. And indeed there are some similarities between the two such as unreliable narrators and multiple points of view but having now read them both I feel it’s a little unfair to compare them. The Girl On The Train, as I briefly mentioned, is written from multiple points of view, the main one being that of Rachel. Rachel is the girl on the train, she travels on the same train every day and every day it stops at the same signal overlooking a row of back gardens. She starts to make up stories about the couple she sees in one particular back garden and then one day she sees something out of the ordinary and the mystery begins. The thing that makes Rachel a good character for a thriller is that she is an alcoholic, to the point where she frequently gets so drunk that her brain cannot make memories leaving her with gaps that she cannot fill. This irritated me, but in a great way, in the way that thriller characters should – it made me more desperate to find out what had really gone on. Another of the points of view comes from Megan, one half of the couple that Rachel sees from the train each morning. Megan is, what can only be described as, flighty. She is a restless woman who has had multiple affairs and just cannot seem to settle. Until about half way through the book I found Megan’s character quite annoying (not in the good way) as she just seemed to whine and complain about almost everything, however, towards the end her voice is very important and she even managed to gain my sympathy. Finally, the third point of view comes from Anna, the wife of Rachel’s ex-husband. Anna is an unsympathetic and selfish character which can be a little draining at times but she is definitely useful in keeping the mystery alive. For the most part I enjoyed the multiple perspectives in this novel, however, there were times when I thought that the voices were a bit too similar and I became confused or easily forgot whose point of view I was reading from.

92b8d9f501a6d35135aa461eb20f5f60

Overall, the writing in this novel was good; it was descriptive but not annoyingly so, it kept me turning pages and wanting to read. However the reason that I am giving this only four out of five as a rating is that, for me, the writing lacked a certain spark (I’m going out on a limb here and hoping you understand what I mean) perhaps even a little style. Basically, I just wanted or possibly even expected a little more. However, I will say that I did not see the ending coming until it was almost evident, which I loved – what’s the point of reading a thriller if you know what’s coming?

Overall, this is a great thriller novel and I highly recommend it. Have you read this? Please share your thoughts with me in the comments!

Until next time!

Shannon x

Summary

Rating: 4/5

Recommend? YES

8 comments

  1. whitemagickvibes · July 1, 2015

    I hated Gone Girl, I read the first chapter and gave up.

    I was really looking forward to reading this one, but I won’t enjoy it if there are alcoholics and people conducting affairs. I know it’s fictional, but I feel disgusted just reading about those things. Awful.
    But I suppose I’ll give it a go.

    Like

    • shannon5597 · July 1, 2015

      I possibly wouldn’t recommend this book if you would rather not read about those topics. However, if you do decide to read it I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Amanda B. · July 1, 2015

    I completely agree! We read this book for my book club and a lot of girls said they saw the ending coming early on… but I was completely in the dark until it was staring me in the face haha I really enjoyed the book, and although it wasn’t as good as Gone Girl, I still recommend it to people!

    Liked by 1 person

    • shannon5597 · July 1, 2015

      Thank you, I totally agree with you about gone girl, it just had that extra something!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The A Blog · July 8, 2015

    I really want to read this book now! Thanks for sharing xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Danni Mae · July 22, 2015

    I’ve heard of this one before- I’m glad you liked it! It’s good the ending was a surprise for you- I’ve read thrillers where you see the entire thing coming and it feels like you could’ve written the book yourself, which is a feeling I never want while reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • shannon5597 · July 22, 2015

      Yeah, it’s always great when a thriller delivers with the ending! After all, it’s what we’re all waiting for! haha 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

